Labfield – Bucket of Songs (Hubro Music)

LabField’s masterly third album, “Bucket of Songs”, shows a band that has expanded its palette considerably since their previous release. Whereas the focus was previously on a soundscape characterised by long, richly detailed, slowly flowing drones, this new album is more a collection of improvised songs and tunes. The amazing Mariam Wallentin (Wildbirds & Peacdrums, Mariam the Believer, Fire! Orchestra) contributes vocals on several cuts.

Until now, LabField has been a duo consisting of the Swedish guitarist David Stackenäs (Territory Band, Seval, Fire! Orchestra) and the Norwegian percussionist Ingar Zach (Huntsville, Dans Les Arbres, Arve Henriksen, Erik Honoré). Both are well-known names in the European improv scene.

Stackenäs and Zach previously played in the trio Tri-Dim together with saxophonist Håkon Kornstad. When the trio was put on the shelf, they decided to form a duo and try out a radically different approach to music.

Both their first album, “Fish Forms” (Bottrop-Boy), and their second, “Collab” (HUBRO), showed an improvising duo using an overwhelmingly rich sound, on a steady course through a hypnotic drone landscape. “Collab” was one of the HUBRO label’s first releases five years ago.

Giuseppe Ielasi (guitar and electronics), from Italy, who guested on the duo’s previous album, is included here as a full member, making the duo into a trio. Ielasi has released several solo albums on the label 12K, and has previously collaborated with Taku Sugimoto, Jerome Noetinger, Phill Niblock, Oren Ambarchi, and many others. Ielasi also operates the label School Map.

“Bucket of Songs” is a powerful album that offers free and creative improvisation-based music that sends feelers out towards pop, minimalism, electronic music and ethnic music.

Buy it from here